Buddhadeb loses from Jadavpore

Kolkata, May 13: West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bahttacharjee lost to Trinamool Congress nominee Manish Gupta by 16,684 votes from Jadavpore constituency.

Gupta got 103,972 votes while Bhattacharjee secured 87,288 votes.

Bhattacharjee has been winning from Jadavpore since 1987. This is the first time the Communist Party of India-Marxist has lost in Jadavpore since the party was formed in 1967.