President accepts resignations of seven ministers

New Delhi, July 12: President Pratibha Patil Tuesday accepted the resignations of seven ministers dropped from Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s ministry.

‘On the recommendation of the prime minister, (the president) accepted the resignation with immediate effect,’ an official statement said.

The ministers who have resigned include DMK’s Dayanidhi Maran and the Congress party’ Murli Deora, B.K. Handique and M.S. Gill. Kanti Lal Bhuria, A. Sai Prathap and Arun S. Yadav are the other three.