PCB slammed for playing with Pak cricketers’ careers

Islamabad, Aug 9: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), under its ‘misfit’ 78 year-old chairman Ijaz Butt, has been slammed for playing with the careers of the national cricketers by omitting three key players from a 28-member list of central contract.

Wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal, all-rounder Shoaib Malik and leg spinner Danish Kaneria have been dropped from the list. Senior batsman Mohammad Yousuf, who was earlier dropped from the 2011 World Cup squad for poor form, also lost out on a central contract this year. Besides, Shahid Afridi’s name was also scrapped from the list after he announced his retirement after being dumped as one-day captain two months ago.

Details of the new contracts, which run from July 1 to December 31, were not revealed. Category A was worth Rs 250,000, those in category B received Rs 175,000 and the ones in C category pocketed Rs 100,000 per month, the daily Times reports.

The paper quoted PCB national game development Director Intikhab Alam as saying that

The contracts were awarded based on seniority, discipline and performance.

“Malik, 28, Kamran, 29 and Kaneria, 30 were not considered for central contracts because they have not been cleared of match fixing,” Alam said, adding: “As long as Malik and Kaneria are not cleared by the PCB integrity committee, a meeting of which is scheduled for August 15, they will not be considered for the contracts.”

He also said that Kamran, who was in A category in the last contract, was dropped because his performance was not satisfactory.

Meanwhile, Kamran, who had played 53 Tests, 137 one-day internationals and 38 Twenty20s, said that he was disappointed with the decision.

“I am disappointed, but I just need to keep on playing domestic cricket and prove my form to the selectors and board,” he added.

PCB contracted players include:

Category A: Younus Khan, Misbahul Haq, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Abdul Rehman

Category B: Abdul Razzaq, Imran Farhat, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Wahab Riaz and Taufiq Umar

Category C: Junaid Khan, Tanvir Ahmad, Hammad Azam, Safraz Ahmad, Sohail Khan, Adnan Akmal, Yasir Shah, Ramiz Raja and Sharjeel Khan

Stipends: Mohammad Talha, Aizaz Cheema, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hasan and Mohammad Ayub Dogar. (ANI)