Congress pulls up Mayawati over proposed resolution of splitting UP

New Delhi/ Lucknow, Nov. 21: Hours after the Uttar Pradesh Assembly passed a controversial resolution on splitting the state into four parts by voice vote, the ruling Congress Party on Monday hit out at chief minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati saying a state reorganisation commission should be formed to look into these matters.

“No confidence motion has been moved. So, our legislature party in Uttar Pradesh will decide that what steps need to be taken into the matter,” said Congress spokesperson Rashid Alvi.

“In this matter, we are constantly saying that a state reorganisation commission should be formed and it should take into concern such matters, not just Uttar Pradesh but also in all the other states of India, where such demands are arising and then we should arrive at a decision,” he added.

This move of Mayawati has also drawn sharp criticism from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who described the resolution to divide the state as a political gimmick.

Amid strong protests from the entire opposition, the resolution for the division of the Uttar Pradesh in four new states was passed by a voice vote in the State Assembly.

Mayawati presented the resolution saying that it was being forwarded to the Centre.

The assembly was later adjourned sine die after the passage of the resolution.

As soon as both the houses met for the day members from the opposition parties protested alleging misrule of the government. Samajwadi Party members demanded the dismissal of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Government alleging that it is in minority and a corrupt government.

Members from different parties trooped into the well and the repeated requests of the Speaker in the assembly were not heeded to forcing him to adjourn the house till question hour.

The situation, however, remained the same when the house met for the second time.

Mayawati had earlier this month announced that Uttar Pradesh would be reorganised into four smaller states – Bundelkhand, Awadh Pradesh, Poorvanchal and Paschim Pradesh.

Poorvanchal comprises of 22 eastern districts of the state, including Gorakhpur and Balia. The current capital Lucknow would fall in Awadh Pradesh, which comprises of 14 districts.

Bundelkhand has seven districts, including Jhansi, while Paschim Pradesh would have 22 districts, comprising Meerut, Ghaziabad and Gutam Buddh Nagar among others. (ANI)