Mayawati takes oath as Rajya Sabha member

New Delhi, April 24: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Mayawati took oath as a member of the Rajya Sabha Tuesday.

This will be her third stint in the upper house of parliament.

She was first elected to the Rajya Sabha in April 1994 but resigned in October 1996. She was re-elected to the upper house in July 2004 and was the Leader of BSP Parliamentary Party till she resigned in July 2007 to take over as Uttar Pradesh chief minister.

Currently the BSP has 15 members in the Rajya Sabha.