Narasimhan, Sankaranarayanan reappointed Andhra, Maharashtra governors

New Delhi, April 28: President Pratibha Patil Saturday re-appointed E.S.L. Narasimhan and K. Sankaranarayanan as governors of Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra respectively.

According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique, Narasimhan and Sankaranarayanan have been appointed governors for fresh term.

Meanwhile, B.V. Wanchoo, a former chief of the Special Protection Group (SPG), will be the new governor of Goa. The post was vacant.

Former Madhya Pradesh minister Aziz Qureshi will be the new governor of Uttrakhand, replacing Margaret Alva, who will take over as Rajasthan governor for the remainder of her term. The post was also vacant and Punjab Governor Shivraj Patil was officiating as the governor.