Voting underway for Andhra by-polls

Hyderabad, June 12: Polling is underway in the crucial by-elections to 18 assembly segments and one Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh on Tuesday.

Voting will end at 5 p.m.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls. Over 46 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise at 5,413 polling stations. A total of 255 candidates are in the fray.

The 18 assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh are Tirupati, Allagadda, Rajampet, Rayachoti, Parkal, Ongole, Narsamapeta, Payakaraopet , Anantapur Urban, Yemmiganur, Rayadurg, Kodur, Udayagiri, Narasapuram, Prathipadu, Ramachandrapuram, Macherla and Polavaram. Only Parkal is in Telangana region.

With all major political parties including Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), YSR Congress party, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Lok Satta and TRS fielding their candidates, the fight at majority seats has become either three or multi cornered contests.

The by-elections were forced following the resignation of a Congress MP and disqualification of 17 state legislators.

The counting of votes will be held on June 15. (ANI)