Abhishek Matoria elected Indian Boxing Federation chief

New Delhi, Sep 23: The Indian Amateur Boxing Federation (IABF) Sunday elected Rajasthan MLA Abhishek Matoria as its president while his predecessor Abhay Singh Chautala was nominated the chairman.

The new office-bearers were elected in the IABF’s executive committee and Annual General Body Meeting in Patiala.

Rajesh Bhandari from Himachal Pradesh was elected the secretary general and Manipur’s Khoibi Salam the treasurer.

The elections were conducted under the supervision of Justice M.S. Liberhan, while the returning officer was former Judge Daya Kishore Sharma. Raja Sidhu presided as the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) observer, according an IABF statement.

P.K. Muralidharan Raja will be the federation’s senior vice-president.