Counting of votes on in Madhya Pradesh

Bhopal, Dec 8: Counting of votes cast to elect a 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly began Sunday.

The vote count started across 51 districts at 8 a.m. Postal ballots were counted first and half-an-hour later, the counting of EVMs began.

As many as 2,583 candidates are battling it out.

The electoral battle is primarily between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress.

The political fate of BJP leaders including Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and his predecessor Babulal Gaur will be decided.

The Congress leaders in the fray include Suresh Pachauri and Leader of Opposition Ajay Singh.