Delhi has voted against 15 years of Congress’ misgovernance: Vijay Goel

New Delhi, Dec.8: Delhi Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Vijay Goel on Sunday said that people here have voted against 15 years of Congress’ misgovernance, while asserting that the saffron outfit will form the next government here.

“I think we will get the majority, and we will form government here. People have voted against 15 years of Congress’ misgovernance, corruption, and inflation among other issues. When BJP will come to power, it will form a good government,” he said.

He further said that people have held former chief minister Sheila Dikshit responsible for the extent of development in the state, and voted accordingly.

“Sheila Dikshit has definitely lost, and since she has been the chief minister for the last 15 years, people have held her responsible and voted accordingly,” he added.

Latest trends in Delhi shows that newcomer AAP is leading in 16 seats, while the BJP is ahead in 17 seats and the Congress in 4 seats. In Rajasthan, the BJP is ahead in 49 seats, while Congress is leading in 11 seats. In Madhya Pradesh, BJP is ahead in 107 seats, while the Congress leading in 48 seats. In Chhattisgarh, BJP is ahead in 41 seats while the Congress is leading in 34 seats. The results in these four states have begun to trickle in.

The counting of votes in four states began here this morning amidst tight security and elaborate arrangements made by the Election Commission.

The votes will decide the fate of contesting candidates in Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh where assembly elections were held between November 11 and December 4.

Three time Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit has forwarded her resignation to the Lt. Governor of Delhi Najeeb Jung, finally accepting that her Congress Party has lost the assembly polls in the national capital.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) continues to be in the lead in the polls and is more or less certain of returning to power in Delhi after 15 years.

However, the BJP may have to share the responsibility of governance of the Delhi with the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). (ANI)