Giant killers of AAP

New Delhi, Dec 8: First timers of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), including Arvind Kejriwal, defeated heavyweights of national parties Congress and BJP and proved themselves to be giant killers in the Delhi assembly elections.

Kejriwal defeated three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and BJP leader Bijender Gupta with a huge margin of over 25,000 votes from the New Delhi constituency.

Saurabh Bharadwaj, a young engineer, defeated the BJP’s Ajay Kumar Malhotra with a margin of 13,000 votes. Malhotra is the son of senior BJP leader V.K. Malhotra.

Dharmendra Koli, brother of Santosh Koli who was fatally injured in a road accident in August, won the Seemapuri seat by defeating the Congress’s Veer Singh Dhingan by 12,000 votes.

Commando Surinder Singh, who left the army and contested from Delhi Cantt seat, defeated BJP heavyweight Karan Singh Tanwar with a margin of 1,000 votes.

Rakhi Birla, a postgraduate in mass communication and journalism, defeated Congress minister Raj Kumar Chauhan with a margin of 10,000 votes.

She had participated in Anna Hazare’s anti-corruption protest in 2011 and left her job in a TV news channel to fight the polls.

Law student Sanjeev Jha defeated BJP’s Shri Krishan from Burari seat by 11,000 votes.

AAP leaders said they never expected such huge support from the people.

“Senior party members never expected this kind of victory. This new generation of leaders will definitely bring some change for the people of the capital,” said a party member.