Kejriwal announces portfolios of ministers

New Delhi, Dec.28: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Saturday announced the portfolios of his six ministers and himself, shortly after assuming charge of his office at the Delhi Secretariat.

Media reports said Kejriwal has taken charge of the key finance and energy and power ministries, besides other departments not assigned to other ministers, while Manish Sisodia will be Delhi’s Education, Higher Education and Public Works Department Minister.

The Department of Transport and Food and Supplies will be headed by Saurabh Bharadwaj.

The Ministry of of Women and Child Development will be headed by the AAP team’s youngest member Rakhi Birla, while Satyendra Jain will be the city’s health and family welfare minister.

Girshi Soni has been appointed Minister for SC/ST Welfare, Development and Labour and Employment.

The ministerial portfolios were formally announced at a press conference by Kejriwal.

The announcements were made almost two hours after Kejriwal was sworn-in as Delhi’s seventh chief minister at the Ram Lila Ground in the presence of tens of thousands of people wearing signature AAP caps, waving coloured baloons, the tricolour, and in an atmosphere filled with patriotism.

Kejriwal said that he would meeting heads and officials of key departments throughout the day, and if time permits, a meeting of his cabinet would also be convened this evening. Further details are awaited. (ANI)