Mizoram election results: Congress takes lead in early trends

Aizawl, Dec 9: Early trends in Mizoram show that Congress is leading in seven seats while Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA) is ahead in one seat.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress was leading in his home turf of Serchhip, while the party was also leading in Tuivawl, Tawi, and South Tuipui.

Counting of votes cast in the November 25 elections in Mizoram has begun here this morning amidst tight security.

The Director General of Election Commission of India, Ashish Srivastava, and several observers are in capital Aizawl to supervise the process.

The fate of 142 candidates, including six women will be decided today. The ruling Congress has contested all 40 seats, as has the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA).

MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) has contested in 31, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested in one seat.

The Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) fielded candidates in 38 seats, while the BJP has contested 17 seats.

There are also two Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidates, one Jai Maha Bharhat Party candidate and four independents whose electoral fate will be decided today.

The main opponent MNF leader and former chief minister Zoramthanga is trying his luck from Tuipui East seat. (ANI)