Four Muslims, two Sikhs among eight Congress winners

New Delhi, Dec 8: Whittled down to a shocking single digit in the 70-member Delhi assembly, the eight Congress legislators include four Muslims and two Sikhs.

The victors include Haroon Yusuf (Ballimaran) and Arvinder Singh Lovely (Gandhi Nagar), the only two ministers in the Sheila Dikshit government to survive an anti-Congress avalanche.

The other winning Congress candidates are: Parlad Singh Sawhney (Chandni Chowk), Hasan Ahmed (Mustafabad), Asif Mohammad Khan (Okhla), Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad (Seelampur), Jai Kishan (Sultanpur Majra) and Devender Yadav (Badli).

Muslims comprised a total of 108 of the 810 candidates in Delhi. In 2008, 92 Muslim candidates were in the fray.

Muslims account for 11 percent of Delhi’s 11.5 million voters. The outgoing Delhi assembly had five Muslim legislators.