Raman Singh takes oath as Chhattisgarh CM

Raipur, Dec 12: BJP leader Dr. Raman Singh took oath as Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh for the third consecutive time today.

Governor Shekhar Dutt administered the oath of office and secrecy to Singh.

Many senior BJP leaders including its National President Rajnath Singh, party prime ministerial candidate and Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi, L.K Advani and Nitin Gadkari were present on the occasion.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, Vasundhra Raje, Uma Bharti, Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Ravishankar Prasad and Smriti Irani were also present on the occasion,

The BJP registered a thumping victory by winning 49 of the 90 seats, one less from its 2008 figure, while the Congress managed to win 39 assembly seats. (ANI)