Spain, Holland in 2014 Brazil World Cup ‘group of death’

Johannesburg, Dec 7: Champions Spain were drawn against the team they beat in the 2010 World Cup final, the Netherlands at the official 2014 Brazil World Cup draw ceremony in Costa do Sauipe on Friday, according to reports.

According to Sport24, the European champions were also paired with Chile and Australia in Group B.

It was an equally tricky draw for England who were thrown in with South American champions Uruguay, European Championship finalists Italy and Costa Rica in Group D, the report said.

Hosts Brazil, who will kick off the competition on June 12 against Croatia, also drew Mexico and Cameroon in Group A, the report added.

Complete list of groups for the 2014 Soccer World Cup in Brazil:

Group A: Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B: Spain, Netherlands, Chile, Australia

Group C: Columbia, Greece, Ivory Coast, Japan

Group D: Uruguay, Costa Rica, England ,Italy

Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, France, Honduras

Group F: Argentina, Bosnia-Herzogovinia, Iran, Nigeria

Group G: Germany, Portugal, Ghana, USA

Group H: Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic (ANI)