Six NSG personnel awarded police medals

Gurgaon, Jan 25: Six personnel of the elite National Security Guard (NSG) have been conferred police medals for service on the occasion of India’s 65th Republic Day, an official said.

Assistant Commandant Balam Ram Guleria has been awarded the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service, while five other personnel of the premier anti-terrorist paramilitary force got the Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

Guleria, who joined the Assam Rifles in 1977 as rifleman and was promoted to an officer, is currently on deputation to the NSG. He was awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2001.

Those awarded the medal for meritorious service are group commander Saroj Kant Mallick, team commander Bhagwan Ram Palli, and Assistant Commandants Par Singh Rautela, Dalip Singh Rana and Teeka Ram Mamgain.

Mallick joined the Central Industrial Security Force as assistant commandant in 1993 and was subsequently selected for deputation to the Special Protection Group (SPG), which guards VIPs. He is on deputation with the NSG, utilising his experience for setting up the VIP security training module in the NSG.

Palli began his career in the Border Security Force in 1979, while Rautela joined Assam Rifles in 1978 as a rifleman. He is currently posted as team commander (accounts) in the NSG.

Rana, who initially joined the Central Reserve Police Force as a constable, was selected for deputation with NSG in 2009. He holds the distinction of getting 46 cash rewards in his service until now, while Mamgain, who began as a constable in the Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and came to the NSG on deputation in 2009 as well, has won 39 cash rewards.