Proteas names 15-man squad for Test series against Oz

Johannesburg, Jan 30: South Africa has named a 15-man strong squad for their upcoming Test series against Australia.

The squad announcement was dominated by the interest around how the selection panel would compensate for the vast gap created by the retirement of stellar all-rounder Jacques Kallis.

According to Sport24, Robin Peterson was confirmed once more as South Africa’s premier specialist Test spinner while leg-break specialist Imran Tahir finds himself out in the cold again after being dropped from the squad for the series starting at Centurion on February 12.

Prevailing weather and pitch conditions at the Highveld venue nearer the time could yet sway the selectors’ trust into extending the formula of deploying seven batsmen and opting to blast the Australians with a pace/seam quartet headed by the customary threesome of Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel plus one other.

Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Peterson, Philander, Steyn, Thami Tsolekile. (ANI)