Screening committee to take decisions in a new way: Rahul Gandhi

New Delhi, Jan.10: Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi on Friday said the screening committee is taking decisions on distribution of tickets, and added that the whole process would be done in a new way this time.

“Our screening committee is going on, and we are taking decisions about tickets. We have been talking about this in our party, and we are doing it in a new process,” said Gandhi.

“We doing it with a formal process and in a deadline for the first time. We have brought a system and process into the political party, and we will bring the voice of the people into our party systematically,” he said.

The Congress Party has constituted screening committees for all states and Uunion territories for early selection of the candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.

Party general secretary, Janardan Dwivedi said All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretaries have been made members of the screening committees in all states under their charge with Pradesh Congress Committee, PCC chief and Congress Legislature Party, CLP leaders being the other members.

Apart from the chairman and the usual members holding these posts, each screening committee has one more member.

According to the list released last night, former Railways Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal will head screening committees for Gujarat and Rajasthan, besides with Dadar Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Gandhi’s close aide Jitendra Singh has been made the screening committee in-charge of Uttar Pradesh, while Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde heads the panel for Bihar, West Bengal, Assam and Andaman Nicobar.

Congress MP and spokesperson P C Chacko heads the panel for Delhi, Chandigarh, Haryana and Punjab.

Bhubaneshwar Kalita is the chairman of the committee for Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Jammu and Kashmir and V Narayanasamy for Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura.

Mallikarjun Kharge is chairman of the screening committee for Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Mumbai while Vayalar Ravi heads the panel for Andhra Pradesh, Goa and Karnataka, Ghulam Nabi Azad heads the committee for Kerala, Lakshadweep, Puducherry and Tamil Nadu.

Oscar Fernandes has been made chairman for the panel in Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. (ANI)