US declares three Taliban as terrorists

Washington, Feb 5: The US Treasury Department Wednesday designated three leaders of a Taliban-affiliated group as terrorists.

With the designation, the US blocks all property of the three militants under US jurisdiction and forbids US citizens from engaging in transactions with them, Xinhua quoted the Treasury Department as saying in a statement.

The three militants — Saidullah Jan, Yahya Haqqani, and Muhammad Omar Zadran — are blacklisted for their leadership role in the Haqqani Network, a Taliban-affiliated group in northeastern Pakistan that has been spearheading insurgency in Afghanistan, the statement said.

“The Haqqani Network poses a grave threat to US civilians, military personnel, and our broader interests in the Afghanistan- Pakistan region,” said David Cohen, Treasury’s Undersecretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence.

With Wednesday’s action, the US Treasury and State Departments have designated 14 militants from the Haqqani Network since 2008.

The State Department designated the Haqqani Network as a terrorist organisation in 2012.