Feb 13 incidents in Lok Sabha referred to privileges committee

New Delhi, Feb 16: The ruckus in the Lok Sabha Thursday over the Telangana bill has been referred to the privileges committee of the house, which has powers to recommend punitive measures, including imprisonment and expulsion, against members.

The decision in this regard by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar was taken under rule 227 of the rules of procedure and conduct of business in the Lok Sabha, said officials from the Lok Sabha secretariat Sunday.

The committee of privileges, headed currently by Congress’s P.C. Chacko, comprises 15 members nominated by the speaker and is tasked with examining every question involving breach of privilege or contempt of the house or of the members of any committee thereof referred to it by the house or by the speaker.

It determines with reference to the facts of each case whether a breach of privilege or contempt of the house is involved and makes suitable recommendations in its report, which is presented to the speaker, they said.

MPs from Andhra Pradesh – both pro and anti-Telangana – had created ruckus in the house when the bill was introduced in the house on Feb 13 with one member even using pepper spray.

The speaker had named 16 members who stood automatically suspended from the house for five consecutive sittings till Feb 20.