PDP to field Baig from Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency

Jammu, Feb 24: Jammu and Kashmir’s opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Monday decided to field senior leader and former deputy chief minister Muzaffer Hussein Baig from the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency.

“PDP has decided to field senior leader, Muzaffer Hussein Baig as its candidate for upcoming Lok Sabha elections from north Kashmir’s Baramulla constituency,” said a statement issued here.

According to a party spokesperson, the decision was taken by PDP president, Mehbooba Mufti after consultations with the members of the political affairs committee, party legislators from the constituency and other senior leaders.

The statement said, “This is the fifth seat for which the party has announced its candidate so far.

“Party president, Mehbooba Mufti would fight from Anantnag whereas Yashpal Sharma has been fielded from Jammu-Poonch-Rajouri constituency. Former minister, Tariq Hameed Qarra has been given the party mandate from Srinagar and Arshad Malik from Doda-Udhampur-Kathua constituency.

“Announcement for Ladakh constituency will be made soon,” the spokesman said.

Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency is at present represented by National Conference leader, Sharief-ud-Din Shariq, who has already been re-nominated by his party.