40 file nominations in Assam for LS polls second phase

Guwahati, March 26: Forty candidates have filed nominations for the three Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam, which are going to polls in the second phase April 12, officials said Wednesday on the last day of filing of nominations.

The three constituencies are the Autonomous District constituency, Silchar and Karimganj.

Assam will see three phase polling – April 7, 12 and 24. Five constituencies – Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur – go to polls April 7, and six constituencies – Barpeta, Nagaon, Mangaldai, Dhubri, Kokrajhar and Guwahati – will vote April 24.

Election officials confirmed that 16 candidates filed nominations for Karimganj, while 17 filed papers for Silchar, and seven for the Autonomous District constituency.

Scrutiny of the nominations will be done Thursday and March 29 is the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

A total of 29,15,127 electorate are eligible to exercise their voting right in 3,698 polling stations in the three constituencies in the second phase, the officials said.

A total of 51 candidates have filed nominations for the five constituencies that will going to polls in the first phase.