48 candidates file nomination for first phase of Assam polls

Guwahati, March 21: A total of 48 candidates have filed their nominations for five Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam, which will go to polls April 7 in the first phase of the 2014 general elections.

Friday was the last date for filing nominations in the five constituencies.

While Congress legislator from Bihpuria Bhupen Bora filed his nomination from Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency, former Congress MP from the constituency and lottery baron Mani Kumar Subba also filed nomination from Tezpur as an Independent candidate.

Subba, who lost to Joseph Toppo of the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) in 2009, was denied a ticket by the Congress this time. Toppo also filed his nomination Friday.

Others, who had filed nominations from the Tezpur parliamentary constituency, included R.P. Sarmah of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Khem Raj Chetri of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Lakshi Kanta Kurmi of (CPI-Marxist-Leninist) and Independent candidates M. Iqbal Ansari, and Elias Kujur, Rajen Saikia of the Forward Block, Gopi Chand Shahabadi of the Trinamool Congress) and Dipen Saikia of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Similarly, five candidates have filed nominations from the Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency including Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi’s son Gourav Gogoi as the Congress nominee.

Other candidates who had filed their nominations in the constituency included Independent candidates Binod Gogoi and Jiten Gogoi, BJP’s Mrinal Kumar Saikia, AGP’s Arun Sarma and CPI-ML’s Arup Kumar Mahanta

In Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency, Congress’ sitting MP Bijoy Krishna Handique is seeking reelection.

Others candidates are former state minister and AGP leader Prodip Hazarika (AGP), veteran communist leader Drupad Borgohain of the Communist Party of India, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa of the BJP, Horen Borgohain of the Forward Bloc, and Rebulaya Gogoi of the Trinamool.

The AAP has fielded journalist Manoram Gogoi, the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) Nasir Ahmed, Rajkumar Dowarah is an Independent and the Samajwadi Party Gunin Basumatari.

A total of 14 candidates filed nominations in the Lakhimpur constituency including state BJP president Sarbananda Sonowal and Congress’ sitting MP from the constituency and Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Ranee Narah.

Others who filed the nominations included Mamud Imdadul Haque Choudhury of the AIUDF led by perfume baron Moulana Badaruddin Ajmal, Hem Kanta Miri of the SUCI, Dhebor Gohain Boruah of the Trinamool, Tanish Orang of the CPI-ML, Hari Prasad Dihingia of the AGP, Hiramoni Deka Sonowal of the AAP and Independent candidates Ranjit Singh Gorh, David Horo, Khairul Islam, Keshab Gogoi, Hrishikesh Baruah and Gangadhar Dutta.

Congress’ sitting MP and Doner Minister Paban Singh Ghatowar filed nomination seeking re-election in Dibrugarh as well as by Rameswar Teli of the BJP and Cheniram Moran of the Forward Bloc. Shiv Ssena candidate Ram Narayan Singh had also filed his nomination in the constituency.

Other candidates who filed nominations are Subash Sen of CPI-ML, Navajyoti Kalita of the Trinamool, Anoop Phukan of the AGP and Tapan Sutabangshi of the AAP.