Diptayan shocks Adhiban in Kolkata Open Chess

Kolkata, March 19: Local boy Diptayan Ghosh shocked former under-16 world champion B. Adhiban to lead the field along with nine others in round two of the sixth Kolkata Open Grandmaster Chess Tournament here Wednesday.

Ghosh, his city mate Deep Sengupta and eight others are on two points each.

Top seed Nigel Short of England and second ranked Russian Sergy Fedorchuk scored quick wins to trail the leaders by half a point at the Gorky Sadan.

Ghosh played the Queen Pawn game against Adhiban and no pawn was captured or exchanged for the first 24 moves. Adhiban then made an unnecessary minor piece sacrifice and also an exchange sacrifice in the very next move, which put Ghosh in full control of the game.

Ghosh exchanged the queens and his dynamic pieces unleashed a severe attack on Adhiban’s king, forcing him to surrender in 55 moves.

Pantsulaia Levan of Georgia played a simple positional game of English opening against Justin Sarkar, an international master of Indian origin from the US. He exchanged all the pieces resulting in a king and four pawns each ending. The better placed Levan’s king helped him to pocket a point.

On the fourth board, former under-14 world champion Vidit Santosh Gujrathi of Maharashtra dashed the hopes of grandmaster Neelotpal Das of PSPB in a pawn down position. He trapped the knight of Das to win the game in 37 moves.

On the top board, Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh held Russian grandmaster Kostantin Landa in a Catalan opening in 27 moves, after exchanging the queens on the 15th move.Important results of Second Round

Rahman Ziaur BAN 1.5 drew with 1.5 Landa Konstantin RUS

Ghosh Diptayan IND 2 beat 1 Adhiban B. IND

Pantsulaia Levan GEO 2 beat 1 Sarkar Justin US

Vidit Santosh Gujrathi IND 2 beat 1 Neelotpal Das IND

Swayams Mishra IND 1 lost to 2 Lalith Babu M.R. IND

Grigoryan Avetik ARM 1.5 drew with 1.5 Palit Somak IND

Kunte Abhijit IND 2 beat 1 Sethuraman S.P. IND

Swapnil S. Dhopade IND 1 lost to 2 Barbosa Oliver PHI

Swathi Ghate IND 1 lost to 2 Sengupta Deep IND

Abdulla Al-Rakib BAN 2 beat 1 Gomes Mary Ann IND

Ivana Maria Furtado IND 1 lost to 2 Debashis Das IND

Deepan Chakkravarthy J. IND 2 beat 1 Kulkarni Chinmay IND

Fedorchuk Sergey A. UKR 1.5 beat 1 Patil Pratik IND

Prince Bajaj IND 0.5 lost to 1.5 Short Nigel D. ENG

Mchedlishvili Mikheil GEO 1 drew with 1 Kathmale Sameer IND