LS polls: Delhi all set to vote on Thursday, 150 candidates in fray

New Delhi, Apr.9: The National Capital Delhi will be voting for the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday and will be electing Members of Parliaments for seven seats.

The fight in Delhi will be mainly between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress and new entrant the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The elections in Delhi will decide fate for 150 candidates who have filed their nominations including 58 independents.

Major fight will be in Chandni Chowk constituency from where Law Minister Kapil Sibal, BJP’s Harshvardhan and AAP’s Ashutosh are contesting.

Other major candidates who are contesting elections include Sandeep Dikshit (Congress), Rajmohan Gandhi (AAP), Jai Prakash Agarwal (Congress), actor Manoj Tiwari (BJP), Union Minister Krishna Tirath (Congress), Ramesh Bidhuri (BJP), former Union Minister Ajay Maken (Congress), and Meenakshi Lekhi (BJP).

The polling will start at 7 a.m. in the morning and will go till 6 p.m. in the evening. Polling will be held in 11,763 polling stations. More than 1.2 crores people will exercising their right to vote. (ANI)