Voting underway in seventh phase of LS polls

New Delhi, Apr.30: Eighty nine Lok Sabha constituencies spread across seven states and two union territories went to polls on Wednesday morning amid tight security arrangements.

Voting is also underway for 119 assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.

Polling began at 7 a.m. and will continue till 6 p.m. However, in some sensitive areas of Bihar and Andhra Pradesh, the voting process will end at 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. respectively.

Of the 89constituencies where polling is underway, 26 are in Gujarat, 17 in Telangana, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, 13 in Punjab, 9 in West Bengal, 7 in Bihar and one each in Jammu and Kashmir and the Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Prominent candidates whose fate will be decided today are Sonia Gandhi, Madhusudan Mistry, Captain (retired) Amarinder Singh, Sriprakash Jaiswal and Shankarsinh Vaghela of the Congress Party, Narendra Modi, L.K. Advani, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Murli Manohar Joshi, and Uma Bharti of the BJP, Sharad Yadav of the JD-U and Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference. (ANI)